Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
12-11-19, 08:01AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 62295
  • Total Topics: 1097
  • Online Today: 134
  • Online Ever: 826
  • (23-02-15, 06:44PM)
Users Online

Author Topic: High flats lifts broken - safety  (Read 1943 times)

dfl

• VLH Supporter
  • Regular Pain
High flats lifts broken - safety
« on: 15-10-19, 06:07PM »
Hi, I heard a driver was told in no uncertain terms to deliver to floors in double figures (2 of them one after another) when the lifts weren't working (high rise flats the type with 14 floors).

I would have thought this would carry an unacceptable risk to the driver of over straining and risk of injury.

Comments/debate welcome !
DFL

choppers dad

Re: High flats lifts broken - safety
« Reply #1 on: 15-10-19, 07:46PM »
I am a driver,  I had a 6th floor with no lift. Told the customers I was not prepared to carry the shopping up. Simple as that. I don't really go over two floors, only for old people.

dfl

• VLH Supporter
  • Regular Pain
« Reply #2 on: 15-10-19, 08:58PM »
I am a driver,  I had a 6th floor with no lift. Told the customers I was not prepared to carry the shopping up. Simple as that. I don't really go over two floors, only for old people.

This driver had 2 back to back on high floors, refusal was met with manager demanding the driver return to the customer with the stuff. I'd have said no for a fact unless given help, falling on the stairs on the flats as I've been in them driver could be left hurt on them for ages.
DFL

dfl

• VLH Supporter
  • Regular Pain
« Reply #3 on: 15-10-19, 09:46PM »
And what does your manager say if you refuse deliveries higher than that level ?
DFL

optout

• Sad Muppet
« Reply #4 on: 15-10-19, 11:25PM »
Were there witnesses to the order?

How was the order (from manager communicated)?